[MP] There Is Only One Sky by Lisa Schroeder

As we head west,
the sun begins to rise
behind us,
turning the sky
sweet shades
of pink and orange.

The sky makes me think
of my mother.

When, as a curious five-year-old,
I asked her
why she chose my name,
she explained
Amber means “sky”
in another language.

“You, sweetheart,”
she told me,
“you are my sky.”

I remember her answer
because I didn’t know
what it meant
to be someone’s sky.

As I stare out at
the body of blueness
splashed with orange,
pink, and white streaks,
so magnificent
I want to tuck the entire
masterpiece into my bag
and keep it forever,

I finally understand.

~there is only one sky.  The Day Before, page. 21


This poem was originally a little part of a verse novel called The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder. When I came across this poem, I remember my mom. And I really like this one because it’s so beautiful and shows just how big a mother’s love is. Don’t you think so?

5 thoughts on “[MP] There Is Only One Sky by Lisa Schroeder

Leave a Reply

